Guns N’ Roses Use Your Illusion Tour

Guns N' Roses band

The Guns N’ Roses Use Your Illusion Tour was a behemoth, running for more than two years and spanning 194 shows in 27 countries. This tour decimated classic GNR lineup. When it started, Matt Sorum had already replaced original drummer Steven Adler. Guitarist Izzy Stradlin didn’t last long into the tour. He decided to leave the band in August 1991, weeks before Use Your Illusion I and Use Your Illusion II came out. Gilby Clarke, replacing Izzy, made his debut in late 1991 and stayed on for the rest of the tour. The tour also added Dizzy Reed on keyboards, backup singers and a horns section.

Although May 9, 1991 was the warm dates for the tour, the January Rio dates are often considered part to the tour. The highlight of the tour was the co-headline dates with heavy metal heavy-weight Metallica between July and October in 1992.

Tour band members:
Axl Rose – lead vocals, piano on “November Rain”
Slash – lead & rhythm guitars, backing vocals
Izzy Stradlin – rhythm guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals on “Dust N’ Bones” and “14 Years” (1991)
Gilby Clarke – rhythm guitar, backing vocals (1991-1993)
Duff McKagan – bass, backing vocals, lead vocals on “So Fine” and “Attitude”
Dizzy Reed – keyboards, backing vocals
Matt Sorum – drums, backing vocals